Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

eBay Disaster

Posted by parsingtime on April 24, 2007

So I was hoodwinked by the Chinese. One Chinese woman in particular actually. There is this ball type event that my presence is required at and I needed a new dress having worn my only formal dress at the last ball thingy. Anyway, I found a great dress but it was $340, which was way more than I wanted to pay for a dress.  I could fly home and see my parents for that price. So I decided to see if it was available on eBay. Now I’ve had a lot of luck with Ebay. I bought a brand new laptop on eBay, I’ve bought shoes, random books, CDs and goodness knows what else.  I’ve always had a good eBay relationship.

So I bought the dress on eBay. The seller unbeknownst to me is in China not Baltimore as listed on the paypal account. I get the dress see that it has come from China and get a little concerned.  I open the package and the dress looks right from what I can remember and then I try it on. The dress is the wrong length, has these weird see-though spots and does not fit like the dress at the store fit.

This event is on Friday people. I do not have a dress to wear. This city has very few department stores because there is no space. I don’t want to spend $300+ on a dress from a boutique. I just want a nice dress for a normal price and be done with it.

So I did what I had to do and drove to Rhode Island.  So not only am I spending money on a dress, I’m losing money by not working and driving to Rhode Island. Anyway, Rhode Island contains barely a million people.  The state house in Providence is so cute and tiny you just want to put it in your pocket and take it out for show and tell later.  However, Rhode Island for all its smallness has a big mall, with lots of stores including a Nordstrom.  Who knew Rhode Island the smallest state in America would have something that I needed? I found a dress and also got my eyebrows threaded at possibly the best threading place I’ve ever been to outside of India.

Don’t knock Rhode Island, people. It may be small but they have stuff you might just need.  Also, I know there are blog readers out there that are Chinese. I am not maligning your culture. I’m just annoyed that I got hoodwinked by a woman who claimed to be in Baltimore but was really selling me a knock off dress made for $3 by child laborers in China. And if it had been a good knock-off made by child laborers it would have been fine.* It’s the poorly made fake stuff I can’t stand.

*Just a little humor there. I don’t really condone child labor. Don’t get your knickers in a twist.

Leave a comment