Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Surrender

Posted by parsingtime on March 9, 2012

My week continued to go downhill.  I caught N’s virus which manifested itself at 11:30 last night in buckets of diarrhea and vomit. Was that too graphic? Sorry. It was more graphic for Husband who walked into the bathroom at 1:30 in the morning when he heard the retching and groaning.  We will both attest to the fact that spicy jambalaya is not good in reverse.

You would think that feeling and looking like what was coming out of my body would mean canceling my root canal. But no, I manned up, took some Imodium and hoped for the best. I managed to get through the dentist without incident and came home and slept. But it was touch and go for a while on whether I was going to be that woman who vomited on her dentist.

And then — oh you thought that was the end of the story? It isn’t. IT GOT WORSE. — I grabbed N’s hand to walk her to the bath and she started crying.  Her arm went limp.  Husband walked in and realized something was really wrong and we went to urgent care. Her radial bone slipped out of the tendon and the doctor had to maneuver it back in.

We also had to hold her down for x-rays while she pitifully hic-cried, “home, home, arm hurt, home” over and over.

The amazing thing was once the doctor fixed her arm she was back to her usual happy self and started talking about all the rain, and thunder and how the “doc-ker fixed arm.”

I’m hoping this is all this week is going to throw at me because seriously, I’m raising the white flag.

One Response to “Surrender”

  1. Emilia said

    Oh my goodness. You deserve a bottle of wine and a vacation. So sorry for you and N and husband! What a week.

Leave a Reply

 
