Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Termites. Big Ones.

Posted by parsingtime on July 7, 2011

We’ve had a busy week here in the Land of Time.  Last week was exciting because not only did we have a big first birthday to finish planning and attend but we found a leak! In our wall! And then TERMITES! In the wall! My little handyman, looked at me with frightened eyes and in his Spanish accent said, “Ms. Parsing, you have termites. Beeeeg ones.”

Sixteen hundred dollars (Leak covered by insurance? Of course not!)  later Husband and I are considering renting in the future. You know I read in the Journal that most Americans couldn’t come up with $2000 in 30 days if they needed it for a car repair or health emergency etc.  Which makes me feel fortunate and at the same time I feel awful for all the people out there who are really suffering in this economy.  I really am worried about the future of America which I know sounds so silly but we have big problems and they need fixing by people who want to really fix problems and not people who want to make sure their state gets pork money. Taxes are going to have to be raised, politicians. Mark my words.

Anyway, moving on. Termites, birthdays, oh my! The party went well except for all the crying by the birthday girl.  She enjoyed Kelly’s homemade cupcake probably a little too much and received some lovely gifts.  Though it must be said, I think boys receive a lot more toys and girls get clothes because people love shopping for girls clothes.  Fortunately, we have R&N willing to share their toys with N.  The ball popper is very popular in my house right now.

We have a birthday party or are out of town from now until the August 19th weekend. That is just madness but we are excited to celebrate milestones with all our friends.

Onward and Upward.

Leave a Reply

 
