Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Tyson or Gupta

Posted by parsingtime on May 17, 2011

I called to cancel an account and when the operator finally answered I got “Tyson” who clearly had an Indian accent and was trying to convince me that he could give me two months free and then a discounted rate for the account I was closing. I politely declined.  He then offered me a one year subscription (which was cheaper then the 2 month free then pay option). I declined that too.

He then cancelled my account and when he told me to have a nice day, I told him “Have a nice evening. It is is evening in India right?” He was surprised I knew that he, Tyson was Indian. Ha.  It totally made me think of the Outsourced show on TV and the Microsoft-like support workers who wear suits and act like they are working in Huntsville, Alabama.

I think it even made me friendlier or else I’m mellowing in my old age because usually I don’t like being sold something when I’m trying to cancel.

One Response to “Tyson or Gupta”

  1. Emilia said

    I love Gupta.

Leave a Reply

 
