Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Oral Fixation

Posted by parsingtime on April 25, 2011

We took away the kids pacifier five or six weeks ago and she has replaced it by adjusting her sleep sack just so, so that she can sleep with her tongue licking the fabric while she sleeps.  If you move it she adjusts it back into position. I hope this doesn’t mean she is going to be a smoker or constant gum chewer or something.

She is also almost ten months old and has not figured out how to sit up on her own or crawl. How concerned should I be?

This parenting gig is constantly making me feel guilty. I feel like I’m failing to do enough of the right stuff with her. If I had surely she would be crawling or able to stack the rings on the ring stacker.

3 Responses to “Oral Fixation”

  1. Kelly said

    As far as I know, you can’t do anything to hurry up the physical developent and it has nothing to do with intelligence. She probably just focusing more on verbal skills anyway. Also, I’ve heard bigger babies crawl later because they have more weight to carry around. This was true of my two bruisers. Can’t wait to see her again. Just enjoy your last few weeks of sanity before she does become really mobile.

  2. Emilia said

    I think she’s perfect just the way she is! 😉 And Kelly’s boys, too!

  3. Hannah said

    I totally know what you mean about not doing the right thing. But I also find moms who bring vocab flashcards to Chick-Fil-A annyoing. re: the crawling thing…

    1. Wake up every morning and thank God for her immobility. Shit gets real once they are mobile.

    2. My MFF took her son to physical therapy to help him crawl at 10 months, per her pediatrician’s advice. He was not a big baby at all, but skinny with no muscle tone. Mostly she would have him reach for a toy while in a position that built his core strength. I think she only did two sessions and then just recreated it at home. He caught up and now gallops, hops, climbs, etc.

    3. Every kid develops a different area first. My ped said it should all even out by two, and it did. Henry was Captain Gross Motor but just recently started saying his own name, while MFF’s kid was a late walker but can sing Supercalifradulisticexbe..however you spell it.

    Also, it’s not uncommon to have a sleep disturbance right before a big developmental milestone. She might not be sleeping because she’s practicing crawling in her sleep.

Leave a Reply

 
