Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Six Months!

Posted by parsingtime on January 3, 2011

Dear N,

It’s your half birthday! There won’t be cake though so don’t get too excited. This month has consisted of you grabbing and lunging at anything within your reach and putting it in your mouth.  Items that have been christened with your spit? My blackberry, fruit in the fruit bowl, my chin, my elbow which seems to be in the perfect position for your rabid gumming when I’m changing you, board books and the car seat strap which you especially seem to enjoy.

You have discovered how much you love real people food this month. You always look a little forlorn when we are eating and you are not. So far you love everything you’ve tried including, squash, peas, carrots, sweet potato, pears, peaches, apples and mangoes.  You have even discovered a love of clementines (you get that from me) and love to gum at a piece when I offer it you (um, not sure that citrus is on the approved list of baby foods but you are only getting a few drops of juice so I’m not too worried).

You are sitting up by yourself as of a few days ago and your Dad and I surprised every time you do it. You are still having some wipe outs but mostly you are really enjoying your new world view and want to be upright as much as possible. You are also giving sort of haphazard kisses. We give you a kiss and then you lick our faces when we ask for a kiss. Whether you actually understand the concept or not, I don’t know.  I personally don’t like to be licked (there is this whole scene in Terminator that face licking makes me think of) but if anyone is going to change my feelings on face licking it will probably be you.

I’ve been trying to get you to sleep through the night for the last ten days or so and it hasn’t really been working. I wish I had someone to blame for your stubbornness. Alas, I have only myself and I’m not into self-castigation so we’ll work with what we’ve got.  The sleep books have been recommending that I put you on a strict nap schedule and I’m still trying to figure out what to do about that. You take two good naps a day and then usually one more short one either in the car or in the jogger.  If I schedule your naps for exactly the same time every day with no variation then I will no longer get to go to my boot camp class or go out jogging with friends, to playgroup (which at this point is still more for me than you) or to the library for reading time. All these things occur during times when Weissbluth thinks you should be napping.  I’m not really sure what to do about this.  You seem fine on your current schedule but I’m not exactly an expert. I, however need our outings. They keep me sane.  Why does this have to be so complicated?

I don’t have any good answers but I do know that I love the intense concentration you use when playing with your toys, how your laughs come all the way from your belly, how you love to splash in the bath and how you smile every time your Dad walks into the room.

You have made our lives so crazy, complex and completely changed in so many ways. Before you arrived we couldn’t imagine life with you and now we can’t imagine it without you.

Love,

Mama

One Response to “Six Months!”

  1. Emilia said

    Six months already?! Wow! Happy Birthday N! Aunt Emilia loves you and can’t wait to see you and watch you do your sitting up and giggling tricks. You can even gnaw on my fingers if you want!

Leave a Reply

 
