Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Pretty Sure I Don’t Like Weissbluth

Posted by parsingtime on January 2, 2011

So last night I decided I was going to dream feed N — which means you feed baby right before you go to bed so they are nice and full for the night. You don’t wake them up and I didn’t even get N out of the crib or burp her or anything.  Then since I had another sleep book I decided to hunker down and read Weissbluth. Ha.

Basically there was a section on how dream feeding your child is a terrible idea and how would you like it if someone woke you from a lovely sleep and stuck a turkey leg in your mouth for you to eat. Okay, he didn’t say anything about the turkey leg but that was the gist I got.  Husband thought we should try out our own dream feeding just to see how we like it and if we are really scarring our child for life.

Anyway, she slept through the night.  She just can’t go from 6 to 6 without something to eat and that is because girlfriend will not increase the amount she drinks during the day. I know, I know, she doesn’t look like she is missing meals but according to the pediatrician paperwork I get at every visit she is drinking 6 to 10 ounces less than she should be per day.  And that was the four month visit.

So I’ve decided to chuck Weissbluth, keep Ferber and maybe try another night or two of the dream feeding to see if that knocks out her 4am habit and then maybe she will be able to go all night.

Why does this have to be so complicated?

Also, Weissbluth talks about babies who don’t get enough sleep/naps as being unpleasant to be around, can’t concentrate on their toys, easily dissatisfied and a whole bunch of other things no one wants to be around. Our kid is definitely not like that. She amuses herself well. Talks and babbles to her toys and is generally quite lovely to be around. I just don’t want to be around her at 4am.

One Response to “Pretty Sure I Don’t Like Weissbluth”

  1. Hannah said

    I have about 10 sleep books that all disagree with each other in one way or another. I love Weissbluth for the part about overtired = no nap. That was huge for Henry. You just have to take the good from each one and ignore the bad. Unfortunately the only one who knows exactly what you need to do is N and she ain’t talking.

Leave a Reply

 
