Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Childless

Posted by parsingtime on December 27, 2010

The baby is staying with her grandparents for the next three days and Husband and I are getting stuff done that there just never seems to be time for.

Today alone I have folded and put away two loads of laundry, cleaned out my closet of all the clothes I haven’t worn in a while, put away the Christmas stuff, addressed, stamped and mailed out our Happy New Year cards, taken (with Husband) all the boxes that seem to have been making box babies in our garage to the recycling center, eaten Banh Mi, made reservations for a massage and facial on Wednesday and made a metric ton of baby food.

I had made a sweet potato here and some pureed pears there but this was my first foray in making a ton of baby food at one time. First, it is easy. Easier than I thought. Second it was quick!

I went to Whole Foods spent about $15.00 on carrots, butternut squash, peaches, pears, peas, sweet potato and mangoes and less than two hours later I had steamed, baked, pureed and cleaned up everything. Crazy given that those tiny little jars of baby food they sell run about a $.80 a piece. Cheaper and healthier FTW!

I now have enough food in my freezer for a good long while.If any of you moms have any suggestions for other first foods your kiddos enjoyed let me know.

We have awesome dinner reservations for the next three nights and will pick up the kiddo on Thursday. We also have a bet with a friend, who doesn’t think we will make it until Thursday without at least going for a visit. I don’t like to lose bets, especially since we have dinner at Indika on the line!

Anyway, hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend. We certainly did.

Books from Aunt Random.

3 Responses to “Childless”

  1. Neha said

    Ok seriously, your daughter is the cutest ever! I can’t get enough of your pictures of her!

  2. Emilia said

    Aunt Emilia has presents, too! I’ll have to deliver on MLK weekend. And soak up some of that sweet babyness. I won’t be trying any pureed sweet potatoes, however. 😉

  3. Kelly said

    Beets are really good for you and they are sweet so babies love them. They are shockingly magenta so handle and can stain, but we never had any permanent stains. we usually mixed ours with baby cereal. She’s probably ready for some combinations. Two of our favorites were leek, pea, potato, and carrot and apricot, papaya, tofu.
    When you start doing meat, you can make a baby bolognese with ground beef, tomato, onion and other veggies like carrot and zucchini.
    we usually mixed chicken with applesauce or something like sweet potato because the chicken has a really weird dry texture when pureed.

Leave a Reply

 
