Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

She’ll be Good at Small Talk

Posted by parsingtime on September 13, 2010

I try to talk to N about the tasks I’m doing while I’m doing it. In general, I have no idea what to talk to her about and this morning resorted to telling her all about the Al Gore/George Bush election debacle (including a description of the electoral college process). Which then lead to talking about Al Gore’s weight gain and then his movie and then climate change and then ice caps and then whales and then Whale Wars and then the Japanese.  She was not riveted. Perhaps the Bill Clinton story with all its salacious details will go over better.

Needless to say if there is a tangent I will go off on it.

Anyway, after I shower I go through the details of what I’m doing while she sits in her bouncy chairs and watches. This morning I was putting lotion on my legs and saying to N, “mama is rubbing lotion on her legs.” Which got me to thinking about Silence of the lambs. So then I’m all (in a creepy voice), “it rubs the lotion on its skin or it gets the hose again, right my Precious.”

And it was at that point I realized again that I need to be more age appropriate.  So no more rated R movie references and I’m going to stop singing Like a Virgin.

Also I would like to randomly state for the record my baby is out of her 0 to 3 month clothes and moved up to 3 to six months. This happened yesterday and I sort of feel like I’m going to be explaining periods to her in a blink of an eye. Like a Virgin will come in handy then, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

 
