Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Diminshing Returns

Posted by parsingtime on September 1, 2010

We bought a car. More on that later.

Last night N somehow moved from horizontal to completely vertical to how I laid her down. Given that she has very little muscle tone and can’t even roll over, I’m not sure how that happened.

I’ve been going out walking almost every day and doing work out videos at home. N is big enough for the jogging stroller I’m just waiting for her two month appointment for confirmation. And then the real work must begin. I want to take her to the gym nursery but I’m worried that it is a hot bed of germs and I don’t really want to subject her to that. I’m thinking that I will just have to get up at 5am before she is awake and go to the gym then. That just sounds painful though. Especially given that I would rather smell Rush Limbaugh’s armpits rather than get up a minute before I have to (new mom adrenaline has totally worn off).

I really need to get busy with her birth announcements. She is practically not a newborn anymore.

Is it weird that I don’t have any issues with leaving my child with other people? We are headed out for dinner tomorrow evening with some friends and I’m leaving her with our real estate agent (who is also a close family friend), since my mom is out of town. Husband and I are also contemplating celebrating five years of married life with a trip to the Caribbean in December sans baby. I love her dearly. I’m not ready to leave her yet (I, for reasons unknown, still harbor the delusion that no one else can take care of her as well as me… it is a delusion), but in four months? Maybe. Possibly. Probably.

It has been almost a year since I’ve had a period, a drink, sushi or bought clothes of the non-maternity variety. I’ll give you three guesses which one of those I don’t miss.  You’ll only need one. And I won’t pump and dump. I don’t make enough breast milk to feed a starving cat in Africa so dumping it is definitely not an option.

I didn’t realize how wearing the breastfeeding, followed by formula, followed by pumping was going to be but it is and there is going to come a day when the diminishing returns mean I stop breastfeeding.  Especially since my supply does not seem to be increasing with N’s rate of consumption. Who knew breastfeeding and economics were so interconnected?

One Response to “Diminshing Returns”

  1. Emilia said

    I’m disappointed you didn’t work opportunity cost into this post. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
