Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Paddy Whack?

Posted by parsingtime on August 11, 2010

I showed Random my post pregnancy stomach and stretch marks and she looked at me with pity. They really are that bad.

I’ve been singing This Old Man to N lately because it makes her smile and not just the smiles she gets when she has gas. My question is, what is knick knack? And why is an old man playing knick knack on my shoe etc?  It makes me think of some dirty old man doing something he shouldn’t be doing every time I sing it.

N had a diaper explosion that managed to get on her feet, in her hair and everywhere in between. How it got in her hair? That’s the magic of baby poop.

My butt is “spitting stitches” and according to my ob I can do the tango (wink wink) but not jog.  I laughed maniacally and then I cried while she wielded her speculum.  I have to go back because everything has definitely not healed.  I don’t know if I’m going to be able to give N a sibling because one more birth/recovery like this will break me.

V8 vegetable soup looks like baby poop.

2 Responses to “Paddy Whack?”

  1. Emilia said

    I now have the urge to go research that song. I’ll get back to you if I find anything…

  2. Emilia said

    According to that bastion of accuracy Wikipedia, “the term “Paddywack” was used from at least the early nineteenth century to describe an angry person, specifically a “Brawny Irishman. From at least the 1970s sensitivity over possible racism has meant that the song is often sung as “Knick-knack patty-whack”, particularly in the United States.” Please make sure you counter this song with Danny Boy or some other lovely Irish tune so you do not scar poor N with latent racism towards brawny Irishmen. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
