Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Four Things

Posted by parsingtime on June 10, 2010

I thought we had two names picked out until Husband asked me last night what our second name was and then continued to hate on the first name I thought we had picked out. So Baby No-Name she remains. I asked him for his top two names and it is completely confirmed that when it comes to names Husband resides on Pluto (which isn’t even a planet anymore) and I’m on Venus.  I wonder how she’ll feel being called No-Name for the rest of her life?

Second, I’m currently so hot that I’m not motivated to cook at all. Ever. Except I still do but I dislike doing it so much that I’ve stopped making myself oatmeal in the morning. I love my oatmeal but the thought of turning on the stove when I don’t have to fills me with such horror that I’ve switched to cereal.

Third, at our child care class there was a lesbian couple, which I found super fascinating, especially in Texas where I think homosexuality is more closeted than not. The pregnant woman had an 8-year-old child from a previous marriage and now they were expecting a second together.  I don’t have any gay friends who have been previously married or have kids (my friends are all out and I’m pretty sure couldn’t fathom marrying someone of the opposite sex – they are all from a different generation than these women though) so the urge to ask them a bunch of questions was strong but I restrained myself since they were just like the other parents-to-be and trying to learn how to take care of their newborn. Still I was impressed at how nice and welcoming everyone was…not that they shouldn’t have been but you never know what to expect.

Fourth, what should I put on my labor/delivery iPod mix? Push It by Salt N’ Pepa or the Ramone’s I Wanna Be Sedated?  Ha. Probably neither. I’m trying to decide if I want something chill and relaxing or something that pumps me up.  Then again perhaps you want something without lyrics because no one wants their daughter being born to Seed 2.0. Of course if I was going with the lyrics from that song I would name baby Time Rock n’ Roll and be done with it.  My Dad’s song when I was born? Or at least the one he would sing a bunch? Isn’t She Lovely by Stevie Wonder.  That man is such a sucker. Rock n Roll is going to be so spoiled.

Leave a Reply

 
