Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

34 Weeks

Posted by parsingtime on May 25, 2010

Watching Husband and I practice our breathing in preparation for labor is like watching a comedy of errors.

We have 37 days to go (plus or minus two weeks, I guess)  and we have no name (still), we need a car seat, crib mattress and I need to stop looking at the newborn outfits we received because every time I do I get freaked out that anyone in any sort of authority position would willing let me go home with something that small. Logically I know we will be fine, despite the fact that I haven’t changed a diaper in 14 years. Hormonally, I feel overwhelmed.

I know, I know you have read this in 468 other blog posts and I sound like a broken record but I write what I feel and right now I’m wondering if I should have a long sleeve, long pant going home outfit or short sleeves. I mean babies can’t regulate their temperature very well but it is Houston in the summer.  There is so much I don’t know.

We went on our hospital tour this weekend and saw a real live newly born baby, which made things a whole lot more real.  It also made me realize that hospitals, no matter how cheery or happy you are to have your baby etc, are kind of depressing and full of sick people. I don’t think I’ve ever stayed the night in the hospital before. The emergency room and I however, are intimately acquainted.

Regarding the name situation. Husband finally took the Indian baby girl name book with him on his latest business trip and has gone through L so far. He suggested about 8 names to me last night and I didn’t like any of them.  I’ve come to the conclusion that we are both going to have to settle. We just don’t like each others name options. I hate that I’m going to have to settle on something we both think is just okay instead of being something we love.

Anyway, T-40 days.

2 Responses to “34 Weeks”

  1. sheeia02 said

    Few more weeks and you’ll finally have your baby. 🙂 You should really think of a perfect name for your babe . Congratulations.

  2. Emilia said

    Maybe the perfect name will appear when you’ve met Baby No Name. Or you can fill out the birth certificate when Husband is out of the room. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
