Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

PIC

Posted by parsingtime on March 1, 2010

In the last few days I’ve dropped several glasses (shattering only one, fortunately), forgotten to get important things signed and messed up several personal things. All of these things make me want to shed the kind of tears you expect to cry when someone you like has died.

If I haven’t mentioned it before I hate being pregnant. It’s way too emotional for me. I’m so glad that I have four more months of this to endure.

Pregnancy-induced clumsiness is a real phenomena. Its basis stems from a combination of physical and emotional factors, which increase as the pregnancy progresses.

Two physical issues directly affect the agility and dexterity of the pregnant woman. First, the obvious change that occurs in body size and alteration of the center of gravity. Spinal lordosis (sway back) is a natural mechanism that helps a woman carry her enlarging abdomen without falling over. Still, her balance is uneasy- worse when climbing stairs, lifting or carrying a package or walking on slippery or uneven surfaces.

The placenta secretes a hormone called “relaxin” which relaxes the ligaments in the body, allowing the lordosis to occur. It also loosens the joints of the hands, arms, ankles and knees.

Edema and increased cellular water in hands and fingers can affect your grip and sensory perception.

Add to this mix the psychological stressors of pregnancy. In a recent issue of Science Journal, stress was shown to activate an enzyme in the brain which impairs short-term memory and impairs decision making.

I’ve been taking a little blog break. I have nothing non-complaining to say about the major events currently going on in my life….one of which includes living through home mortgage hell. I have determined that being financially responsible along with being self-employed is the fastest way to get denied for a home loan.  So in my next life I am determined that I shall spend money like water and enjoy myself instead of setting up IRAs, 401Ks and buying staid little cars. If we are going to get denied I’d like it to be for something really farking ridiculous, like I bought a time share in a private jet or threw a 30th birthday party for Husband using embezzled funds (I had to ask husband just now what the word was for stealing company funds — that is how messed up my brain is). We actually probably will get this house situation sorted out it has just taken more time and energy than either of us expected it would. Enough that on Friday of this week I was ready to just say forget it, let’s live in an apartment.

Okay, back to my hiatus.

2 Responses to “PIC”

  1. Kelly said

    This mortgage thing infuriates me especially since I have the very current example of people who are much less responsible, buying too much house for them, and only had to put down 5%. They are making it harder on the wrong people! Hang in there.

  2. Emilia said

    But your complaining is much funnier than my complaining…I like to hear pregnancy complaints, because I’ve always secretly thought it wasn’t all sweetness and light!
    Good luck with the mortgage mess – I wouldn’t even know how to begin. I look at houses in the paper each week and think, “That seems like such an effort…” It’s much easier to be dissatisfied with my apartment and complain about it than actually do something about it! 😉
    Call if you need to vent. I will agree with you, no matter what!

Leave a Reply

 
