Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Happy Birthday To Me

Posted by parsingtime on February 4, 2010

I’m not going to jail and I get to keep my driver’s license. Yay.

The bad news is that the court thinks I’m a menace to society and are punishing me with defensive driving (and not online, people), a hefty fine and a “donation” to their slush fund.  The donation is in an amount that is supposed to discourage my reckless behavior in the future.

Oh, sure I don’t have to take the deal but then North Carolina will revoke my license.

So happy 30th birthday to me.  I just spent any gift I might have wanted for the next ten years donating to Crappy County in Georgia (Crappy is not the real name but I don’t trust that the DA doesn’t google his own county and then he’ll find me and throw me in jail and double my “donation”).

And don’t think I don’t feel guilty when I think about how my ticket costs equate to a house payment. But I get to keep my license.

Please consider me sufficiently discouraged.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday To Me”

  1. Kelly said

    Maybe that painful payment is just preparing you for all the money that is about to start flying out the door once baby Time is born.Can’t wait to hear what it is! Glad you are still a legal driver because that baby needs a chauffeur

  2. Emilia said

    I’m so happy I don’t have to give you a baby shower in a Georgia jail. Maybe instead of baby gifts, we could take up a collection for your donation to Crappy County, GA… nahh… tiny socks are more fun to buy!

Leave a Reply

 
