Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Red Lights

Posted by parsingtime on October 20, 2009

Do you think the chances are of getting stopped twice in two weeks on suspicion of drunk driving are pretty high?  Do you suppose that 2009 wanted to prove to me that it could still F with my life? Is it really possible to be stopped twice in two weeks when your last police experience was in 1997?

The answer to all these questions is Yes.

On Saturday night after watching Texas beat OU (in what can only be described as a painful game) and hanging out with some friends from out-of-town Husband and I headed home. It was 1:30am.  I’m sitting at a light waiting for the left turn signal to turn green. I wait three light cycles and it still doesn’t turn green.  I look over at Husband, look to make sure there are no cars coming in any direction (there aren’t) and I turn left.  The light was still red. It had been red for over 5 minutes at this point.

Thirty seconds later, flashing lights turn on behind me.  And in that moment every curse word available to me went through my head.  Because clearly I was going to get a ticket. I did something completely illegal.  I ran a red light.

So I stop and let me just take a moment to tell you both the cops that have stopped me in the last two weeks (one white, one black) have been extremely polite, well spoken and informative.  Nothing like the overweight abrasive cops that have stopped me in Texas.

I stop. I explain about the three light cycles and that I have not had anything to drink (which I hadn’t, because the cop from two weeks ago scared the crap out of me. I didn’t mention that though.) and he goes back to his car.  Five minutes later he comes back and tells me he appreciates my honesty and he is going to let me go. I then ask his opinion on what to do next time, he gives me answer and it’s done.

But holy crap, people. I got stopped. On the same damn road. On suspicion of drunk driving. Twice.

2 Responses to “Red Lights”

  1. Emilia said

    Cops there must not have much else to do – I guess that means it’s a safe city? Maybe you need to find a different way home… or make Husband the designated driver!

  2. There is no other way home. This road is one of three major roads running through the city.

Leave a Reply

 
