Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Unctuous

Posted by parsingtime on October 14, 2009

I hate the word unctuous. Hate.  When it is used to describe newest culinary craze sweeping Texas fairs, it makes me want to gag.

People were queuing for an unusual delicacy: balls of butter, dipped in dough and cooked in a vat of boiling oil. Fried butter, in other words. The balls were dusted with a thin coat of powdered sugar. When bitten, they collapsed with an unctuous squelch.

It is currently unclear if the phrase “unctuous squelch” is making me feel achy and nauseous or if it’s the flu. That’s how much I hate the word unctuous.  It’s not surprising really, if a movie can make me throw up for 8 hours then the idea of eating melted greasy oily butter can make me nauseous.

Per usual The Economist informs me of all the important things going on in the world, including fried butter.

Leave a Reply

 
