Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Senile Bartender

Posted by parsingtime on September 22, 2009

So we went to SF this weekend for a friend from business schools wedding.  I don’t know what it is about business school friends that make them so awesome. I didn’t even go to business school and I love almost all the people from Husband’s section.  I wonder if it stems from always being a public school girl and wondering if Ivy leaguers are going to be mean or snobby or something. They aren’t, in case you were wondering. They are awesome.

It was a busy weekend full of Burmese food,  limo rides (did you know that it is cheaper to rent a limo from SF to Burlingame for seven people than it is to get a taxi? A 1980s limo driven by Steve-O, who wears chaps,but still a limo), lovely ceremonies, dancing, excellent wedding cake and beautiful September west coast weather.

The only odd spot on the weekend was this old bartender (who when I asked for something sweet suggested vodka and cranberry – gross and cranberry is not sweet!) who came up to me not once but three separate times to tell me I was beautiful. And that if that was my Husband he should cherish me. The first time I responded with a “you’re so sweet and thank you.”  My tone may have conveyed some disbelief (he was forceful in his belief that I was the most beautiful woman he had ever seen — I think Gisele and about a billion other women would have something to say about that).

He caught me by myself the first time but the second and third time I was with other people. Other people who found him completely hilarious in his insistence. It was awkward. And confirms the fact that only Husband and really weird people (who might be high, drunk, senile or all three) find me attractive.  I’m not sure what that says about Husband or me.

Despite the crazy bartender we had fun at the wedding and Husband and I even danced, poorly of course, but since we were amongst friends it didn’t matter.

Now if only I could get myself up before 9am EST.

Leave a Reply

 
