Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

BBQ Chicken Salad

Posted by parsingtime on September 15, 2009

I am frequently at a loss on what to make for lunch that isn’t a boring sandwich so lately when I’ve been out at restaurants I read their menus looking for something interesting that I can recreate at home.  This is one of those salads. I’ve ripped it off from Wolfgang Puck and I’m completely comfortable with that.

This is the cast of characters:

Salad Ingredients

This recipe does not use an entire chicken but I used the leftovers for chicken quesadillas and chicken salad which is two more lunch options so long as you aren’t sick of chicken.

Ingredients:

Roast Chicken or a breast, cooked and cubed
Corn
Black Beans
Tomatoes
Cilantro
BBQ Sauce
Ranch Dressing
Tortilla Chips
Romaine Lettuce

Directions:

  1. Throw the corn, black beans (drained and rinsed), tomatoes and romaine together with some ranch dressing.
  2. Chop some cilantro and add it to the salad mix. I save some for the top of the salad too. Don’t skip the cilantro, it makes the salad in my opinion.
  3. Cube your chicken and drench in some BBQ sauce. Wolfgang serves this salad with cold chicken. We like it warm so I usually microwave this. Add it to the top of your salad mix.
  4. Crush some tortilla strips over everything. Wolfgang has fancy tortilla strips on top of his salad but that seems like a lot more work than just crushing some blue corn tortillas over the top.

And voila!  Bob’s your uncle.*

Wolfgang Puck's Salad

It tastes better than it looks. A photographer I am not.

*Husband just laughed at the phrase “Bob’s your uncle.” That is because he isn’t a cultured European like I am.

Leave a Reply

 
