Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Like Water for Chocolate

Posted by parsingtime on August 19, 2009

Back in 11th grade I was taking a Spanish class with Senora Thallasinos. I don’t remember where she was from but she spoke with broken english and introduced me to two pieces of film awesomeness. The first one was Corazon Salvaje a Spanish telenovela where the lead character’s name was Juan Del Diablo. He had long hair. I totally have a thing for guys with long  hair.  I’m not saying I have good taste, just that I have a thing.

Husband tells me frequently when I complain about his crazy long eyebrows that his goal in life is to have all his body hair so long that it all connects.  So just to clarify I do not have a thing for some sort of crazed grizzly, hairy Indian yeti.

The other piece of film awesomeness was Like Water for Chocolate. We watched it in class. If you have ever seen this movie you understand that it is totally inappropriate for a classroom. There is a part where one of the characters Gertrudis runs out of the shower naked (which she is taking to get rid of the rose scent she is emitting because she ate an aphrodisiacal (I’m pretty sure that is not a word) meal) because the shower has evaporated and her sensuality has caused it to catch on fire. She is picked up by a revolutionary on a horse and she rides away with him, still naked. 

The chafing alone makes me shudder.

There is a decent amount of nudity and full of magical realism that you see in books by Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez (whose 80th birthday was being held at the same hotel we stayed at in Cartagena) which made it totally inappropriate for a bunch of 16-17 year olds lacking in maturity.  I of course decided that Random, Emilia and Kelly had to see this movie. 

At the end the two star crossed lovers, Tita and Pedro come together finally and their passion is so heated that Pedro dies (in the midst of the passionate sex) and Tita starts to eat matches (because she is distraught and that’s what distraught people do, they eat matches) which catch fire because of the heat of Pedro’s memory and she dies and the lovers are together in death.

Anyway, the point of all this is to tell you that I recently caught this video while at the gym and while I like Paolo Nutini fine this video/song really reminds me of Like Water for Chocolate.  The old school Mexican wedding, the scene at the end where the bride and groom are consummating the marriage, the fire in the background and even the groom, who looks a bit like Pedro.

One Response to “Like Water for Chocolate”

  1. Emilia said

    I think I speak for the whole group when I tell you thank you for introducing us to Like Water For Chocolate. High school would not have been nearly as fulfilling without it. However, if you are saying that an infatuation with DDL in Last of the Mohicans is not in good taste, then I am going to have to respectfully disagree… I think it might be time for me to get that DVD out again.

Leave a Reply

 
