Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

DINKs

Posted by parsingtime on July 27, 2009

Husband and I have been taking about in kids lately in the way that most couples who’ve been married for a while talk about it.  Should we? Are we ready? Do we really want kids?  The answers to those questions change from day to day.  And then we started watching 16 & Pregnant.

I have no excuse for why we are watching inane MTV shows but we are.   I don’t know if the high schoolers out there are watching and thinking it is glamorous to get pregnant but it has scared the hell out of the almost 30 year olds watching it at my house. And by scared the hell out of I mean we watch in slack jawed horror and then say things like “we could retire in Buenos Aires tomrrow if we don’t have kids”  or “we would never have to wake up every two hours” or “holy crap look at those stretch marks” or “she looks like she is in a lot of pain, you know I have a low threshold for pain right?”

And we aren’t even 16. We have traveled extensively, we both have been to grad school and don’t have to live with our pregnant mother (seriously one of the girls was living with her pregnant mother who gave birth a few weeks before she did). We should be ready and yet I see people with babies, I really wonder if we’re cut out for it. Maybe we should have done the kids thing right after we got married when we didn’t know how much we loved the freedom of doing whatever we want.  It sounds horribly selfish.  That’s because we are.

I’m just not one of those people who has the instinctual and irresistible urge to procreate.  Random aside, to note that I don’t drink excessively or do drugs because I like having control of my faculties and body. The thought of having something growing inside my body for almost a year gives me the heebie jeebies. 

Though, I never thought that I’d become a real girl and that has happened so who knows.

One Response to “DINKs”

  1. Hannah said

    I always told Husband I would never be ready to try to get pregnant, and if he wanted kids it would have to be an accident. We agreed to throw caution to the wind on our trip to Hawaii, but I got pregnant the month before on accident. I guess subconscious biological urge won out.

    Do you want someone to take care of you when you are old? That’s my main motivation. Although my crazy old neighbor says I should enjoy Henry now because he will just grow up and leave me.

Leave a Reply

 
