Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

No Taste

Posted by parsingtime on May 4, 2009

Conversation between Me, my Dad and my Sister.

Dad: You guys better give me some good decorating ideas otherwise the new place is going to look like my pants with the palm trees on it. 

Me: M has already told me about those and how hideous they are. She said you wore them in Europe with a matching hat.  

Dad: I think I’m going to put some sand on the floor of the solarium and add a Tiki Bar (this was said for the benefit of my mother because for some reason he likes to hear her screech in disapproval) wear my pants and pretend I’m in the South Pacific. By the way, those pants are Brooks Brothers and very expensive.

M: Just because they are Brooks Brothers doesn’t mean they are nice. There is a reason they were on sale for $20.

Dad: They were $10 and you only think they are hideous because your Mum thinks they are (my dad is from England, I don’t think he has ever said Mom his entire life). I bet TK (this is Husband but I’m thinking of giving him a new nickname because Husband is kind of a weird word, I’ve decided. Is Husband derived from Husbandry, do we know the origins?) would take my side.

Me: Ha. I doubt it. He knows better.

Dad: If you were nicer to him he might speak up more.

BTW, in any conversation with my parents that occurs if  TK and I disagree on something my parents always take his side and tell me I’m too mean to him. Basically he can do wrong in my parents eyes.  I’m still trying to figure out what magic fairy crack dust he used so that I can use it on his parents.

2 Responses to “No Taste”

  1. Emilia said

    Awww, come on. Every condo needs a tiki bar!

  2. Random said

    I am totally adding “Design a room after the tackiest piece of clothing you own” to my Things to Do after 50 List. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
