Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

I Didn’t Wear Flowers In My Hair

Posted by parsingtime on April 29, 2009

So we are back from San Francisco. The closing went well and I didn’t have to smack the real estate agent around, which of course made me sad. I enjoy a good smack down once in a while.  My parents new place is great and has an awesome view of SF. We saw a ton of good friends, ate lots of really great food and got to hang out in a city where you get to walk places (which  I love). If the weather had been a tad warmer it would have been perfect. The 40 degree weather did not stop me eating Bi-Rite Creamery ice cream.  Of course, eating Bi-Rite did make me bitter that I don’t live in a city with excellent ice cream.

Anyway, quick run down of the weekend…we started out at Bix with S&M.  I don’t think they are into S&M but if they are who cares? They are newly engaged and so in-love….and as we all know, I love seeing newly engaged people in love , you know, before the horror of wedding planning kills the glow. Just kidding!  Their engagement story was super cute especially since they had a conversation that I would have put up here had it been Husband and I (No, no, you are telling the story wrong. Where was I standing….I’m not telling it wrong. Fine you tell it.)  Very cute.  Anyway, we had a really nice dinner with them though by the end of the meal (11ish PST) I was fading fast. You know I’m tired when I don’t have enough energy to hog the shared dessert.

Friday, I hit up H&M because there aren’t any in NC and bought one sad little item. That place is so hit or miss. Husband and I then met up with a friend from B-School for Burmese food, I think it was called Mandalay. We ate this salad made out of tea leaves, lentils, peanuts and some other stuff that was really good. I wasn’t sure what to expect from Burmese food but now just tell me when we are going to Rangoon and I’ll be there. The military junta will give me a visa right?  Our friend is in the midst of doing entrepreneurial stuff from scratch which I always find impressive. He is literally starting his own thing and it seems like he has several ideas knocking about. I hope it works out for him.

Next up, super secret sushi with Stephen&G. I was only allowed to eat dinner at this place so long as the name and location were kept secret. It is a tiny little restaurant and the sushi chef/owner is like the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld. If you order and sound like you don’t know what you are doing they will just refuse you service or give you bad cuts of fish. Fortunately, Stephen is a connoisseur.  I ate all sorts of fish I had never tried before and like them all, except for the sea urchin. Have any of you tried sea urchin? It is like a cold, gooey, gelatinous, squelch-y ball that explodes sea urchin guts in your mouth.  There is a surprise center, but it’s not a good surprise.  Other than that the entire meal was fantastic. I haven’t had better sushi.  We had a really nice evening…that included Bi-Rite and a stroll around Embarcadero food market place (I forgot the real name).

We really didn’t do much touristy stuff in SF. Husband and I have done all of that already. So we just met up with friends and ate a lot. Fortunately, we also walked a ton (up steep hills!) so I think it all evens out. Saturday was our last full day in SF and we met up with all our B-school friends. I managed to pick a restaurant that was smack dab between about 10 strip clubs. Oops. It was a great time and I haven’t laughed that much in ages. It made me miss Boston.

I was sad to be heading back to Charlotte. Being in SF where we have 20 people we would love to see on a regular basis made me realize how lonely we are in CLT.  We have friends but not really good friends.

Husband is off traveling this week so I am once again alone but at least I’ve been fortified by four days of good food and friends.

One Response to “I Didn’t Wear Flowers In My Hair”

  1. Carol said

    Yay!! I knew you’d love Bi-Rite. I am similarly bitter about the fact that BiRite is only in Sf.

Leave a Reply

 
