Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Vegetarian

Posted by parsingtime on February 22, 2009

The vegetarian experiment has been going on for two weeks now and except for some Valentines sushi I’ve been a complete vegetarian. Husband, did not last as long. He was traveling and went to a steak place with the Hog (short for Hedgehog, not pig) and his lunches at work are never meatless.  But he was a vegetarian at home so I guess that counts…sort of.

Over the last two weeks we have had grilled eggplant parmesan, Indian food, veggie enchiladas, pasta, Spanish tapas (basically lots of interestingly cooked vegetables, like garlic mushrooms and a hot green bean/shelled edamame  mint salad), calzones (we made donut holes with the leftover dough — which was fun and yummy), portabello mushroom burgers, pad thai and several different stir frys.

Overall it has been a good experiment. It forced me to learn to make some new things (tapas, which when made at home really can be an affordable filling meal! In Boston we went to a place called Dali with a big group of people and it cost $40 a person for tapas which is fine as long as you don’t go home and eat cereal because you are still hungry) and I unsurprisingly haven’t missed cooking meat (I hate touching raw chicken).

Are you amazed by the amount of parentheses I can fit into one post? Five times really seems excessive.  I really need to work on that plus my use of ellipses.

Anyway, we are taking a break from the vegetarian life tonight with some fish tacos, but overall I think  if I didn’t have to give up sushi I could totally be a vegetarian.

3 Responses to “Vegetarian”

  1. Kelly said

    So I guess sushi is going to be the thing you crave but can’t have when you are pregnant. For me right now it’s smoked salmon. I want a bagel with cream cheese, smoked salmon, a little lemon juice and capers so bad I can taste it!

  2. I’m comforting myself with the fact that I can still eat cooked sushi while pregnant…though it really isn’t the same.

  3. Neha said

    I think its so much harder to go vegetarian if you once ate meat. People are so amazed that I’m vegetarian and don’t crave meat but I’ve never had it so I have no desire to eat it. I give you guys a lot of credit for being able to go so long! I think that’s the new thing now–so many of our friends are going vegetarian and kind of testing themselves to see how long they can do it!

Leave a Reply

 
