Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Hate

Posted by parsingtime on January 28, 2009

Hi is this Shanna?

No. You have the wrong number.

Is this 555-555-5555?

Yes, it is.

I’m calling because you have been selected to received a free $1000 online shopping spree.

You called yesterday and I asked you to take me off your calling list.

But Ma’am. This is a free shopping spree and I would hate for you to miss out on this opportunity.

Nothing is ever free. There is always a catch. I want to be taken of  your list.

No catch Ma’am. As a valued customer of Visa we are giving you this shopping spree.

I don’t own a Visa.  I want to speak to your supervisor.

Do you own an Mastercard or American Express?

Please take me off your list. I’m not interested. What company do you work for anyway?

Publishers something or other (I can’t remember exactly). We are giving you a free shopping spree.

I’M. NOT. INTERESTED. Please take me off your list.

But Ma’am…

I would like to speak to your supervisor RIGHT. NOW.

Okay, Ma’am I’ll take you off our list.

I get really annoyed when I specifically ask to be taken off a calling list and they insist on calling me day after day.  I get whatever the phone version is of Road Rage.

3 Responses to “Hate”

  1. tiembo said

    https://www.donotcall.gov/

  2. I’m on that…it just doesn’t seem to be working. It was the first thing I did when we got our new number.

  3. Neha said

    Is this on your home phone or cell phone? We don’t have a houseline and actually started getting spam calls on our cellphones! It makes me crazy to the point where I don’t even answer if I don’t recognize the number–ever!

Leave a Reply

 
