Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Benefits of the Gym

Posted by parsingtime on January 14, 2009

I write about the gym and my ongoing hatred of the scale frequently on the old blog and felt like I should clear a few things up.

I used to make fun of people who always went to the gym and then in India we lived with a guy who went to the gym every day and even planned which gym he would go to on two hour flight layovers. He HAD to go to the gym, which, whatever, I thought he was crazy. But his insane gym going in India basically guilted me into going frequently and it wasn’t like I had anything better to do.  I just figured once I got back to the US I  would go back to my usual sporadic gym going habits.

Except I didn’t. I realized how much better I slept the days I went the gym (I am the lightest sleeper on the planet and have enough issues with sleeping that Husband wants me to go to a sleep clinic)  and over a the course of the year I upped my gym going from three days a week to four, then eventually five and now I go pretty much every week day and either Saturday or Sunday when I’m not traveling (my family made fun of me for trying to run on Thanksgiving day and I didn’t work out in Hawaii at all unless you count lifting those heavy pineapple mojitos).

I’m not doing anything intense. Usually running a couple times a week, kickboxing a couple times a week and a weights class every so often. Enough that I can eat a decent amount of left over halloween candy (yes, we still have some) and not feel guilty but not enough to be buff or have a Victorias Secret model stomach or Baracks for that matter.

Anyway, the exercise has been beneficial in multiple ways, except for weight loss in my case at least. I sleep better when I exercise. I find I have my best ideas when I’m running (the only problem is I never have paper or a pen handy to write them down), my sex drive, while healthy before, has shot through the roof  (TMI I know, but I’m trying to be honest here, people),  and I actually have a lot of fun at my nazi-like gym classes.

I feel good after going to the gym and that is the only reason why I keep doing it.

And in the interest of full disclosure vanity plays a big role as well. I have several cousins who were size two when they got married and a two years later and before having kids they were both carrying an 30 extra pounds. It seemed like a bait and switch and I’m not into that. I don’t obsess over food (except for eating the same things over and over) or count calories, eat a good amount of dessert and recognize that if I did really want the scale to move I would have to change my pretty healthy diet so that it no longer included sugar (my biggest weakness) and I’m not willing to do that…yet.

So if you are a non-exerciser  give it a try I highly recommend it and I was a non-exerciser for the first 20 odd years of my life. I promise if you try it consistently for a month you will want to make it part of your schedule.

Leave a Reply

 
