Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Mele Kalikimaka

Posted by parsingtime on December 23, 2008

We’re back. Maui was good. Beaches, blue oceans, humpback whales, Hana, craters, sunshine, waterfalls, sushi, pineapple mojitos and Mama’s Fish House, which if you are ever in Maui you must try. The fish is unbelievably fresh. They don’t deal with distributors, the fisherman deliver the fish every morning after they catch it right to Mama on her dock.  The view is also stunning.

We also went to Kauai. Kauai was bad. Rain, cold, cool Helicopter ride, more rain made even more hilarious by the fact that we had a convertible.  So we left early and went back to Maui where we drank more Mai Tai’s and swam in the ocean all day. I’m not sure I would ever go back to Hawaii…it was nice and we had fun…but nine hours in a plane to land in America? Just seems weird.  And yes, I will cop to the fact that I’m completely spoiled travel wise so I should just shut up.   Feel free to pelt me with a wet noodle or something.

I’d like to mention that almost every place we ate in Hawaii had better food than I’ve had here in Charlotte. How is that possible?

We are heading back to Texas tomorrow for the holidays followed by a three week long visit from my sister in law.  I feel like life has been a whirlwind the last two months and I definitely prefer the mundane.  I’m ready to go to sleep and wake up in February, who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

 
