Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

King Solomon

Posted by parsingtime on October 13, 2008

I hate splitting the holidays. We usually spend Thanksgiving with my family because Husband’s family doesn’t do the whole Turkey thing (being vegetarians and everything) and Christmas with my in-laws. Last Christmas we were in Argentina with my family so the in-laws most definitely get Christmas this year. I’m nothing, if not fair.

But this year my sister is in her first year of residency and isn’t getting Christmas off. So my parents are going to be alone. Without either of their kids for the first time ever. Doesn’t that just seem sad to you? There is nothing to be done this year but I just can’t imagine my mom making Christmas dinner for two people. I keep imagining them with my mom in the bedroom watching Lifetime and my Dad in our family room watching football and having a depressing Christmas. I’m sure they will be fine and deal I just have an overactive imagination that likes to imagine the worst.

The other problem is that we always spend Thanksgiving at my house (because eating Indian food on Thanksgiving is depressing) but that means forevermore I’ll have to spend Christmas with my in-laws which just doesn’t seem fair either. So we are going to have to give up Turkey day (me cooking a turkey at the in-laws house would be unacceptable. My MIL freaked out when we mentioned getting a dog, how do you think she’ll feel if I gut a Turkey in her sink?  I need to keep her on my side.) so that we can sometimes go to my house for Christmas.

I suggested to Husband that perhaps we should split up (not literally just go our separate ways for the holidays), but I like spending the holidays with Husband so it wasn’t a realistic suggestion, though it would be easier. 

The other option is to have a kid and make my parents and the in-laws come to us but I don’t think that would work either.  First, having a baby so that you don’t have to split the holidays seems irresponsible. Second, while Husband and I are very similar in a lot of ways our parents are not. I think it is a generational issue. They are the same age but not the same Indian Generation.  Husband’s parents moved from India almost 30 years ago whereas my Grandparents left India for Africa/Europe before my parents were even born.  My grandparents are more like Husband’s parents. Though I think my grandmother would have a heart attack if she knew we ate meat and drank alcohol, whereas Husband’s parents are fine with it.

You would think my married friends could solve this problem for me but everyone’s situation is so different so that doesn’t really work. There are no good solutions in our situation but that doesn’t make it suck any less.

Leave a Reply

 
