Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Mojito Mania

Posted by parsingtime on September 19, 2008

Doesn’t that look refreshing and tasty?

Fresh Ber...

Here is how I make Mojito’s. I find Mixology kind of fun. There are very few alcoholic drinks that I like so I want to make what I do like well and usually that means throwing out several batches before getting it right.

So for this recipe you will need:

  1. Mint Leaves
  2. Sugar
  3. Rum – I use Bacardi light rum ($12-14 a bottle)
  4. Club Soda (don’t confuse this with tonic water…tonic water is gross)
  5. Ice
  6. Limes

Some mojito makers just throw the sugar in with the mint, muddle it up and Bob’s your uncle you have a drink. I however like to make simple syrup. 1 part water to 1 part sugar (1 cup/1cup is good for about 8-10 mojitos, I usually make a lot less), heated up until the sugar dissolves. I then add mint leaves to the simple syrup for about thirty minutes and then strain it and stick it in the fridge. You now have minty sugar water to add to your mojito. It seems time consuming but it is worth it.

So once that is ready…muddle (basically mash, but don’t over mash) mint leaves with 1 tablespoon of simple syrup. I use a bit more if I have lime-y limes, which may not make sense to you but try the recipe and you will know. Limes are not all created equal.  Add 1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lime juice (save the hull to throw in the drink for decorative purposes) Add 2 tablespoons of rum. Add 3 tablespoons of soda water, give it a stir, add some crushed ice and you’re done.

This makes a short drink. I am not really up for a ton of alcohol, so I usually make a smaller drink,  but if you have a tall glass just double everything and you’ll be all set (though I would hold back a bit on the lime juice and taste before you throw it all in).  You could also use a cocktail shaker for all of this but I don’t own one and stirring it all up in the glass seems to work just fine. Just don’t get rough with your muddling otherwise you’ll end up with a broken glass (ahem, Husband).

Oh and if you want to be fancy, you can add a tablespoon or two of some concentrated juice, like mango or raspberry or something and have Mango Mojitos! And since I never use the mint that I buy I throw it plus any leftover lime into a pitcher with water and you have minty water for the next day and it’s like being at the spa, without the hot masseuse.

Salud!

Leave a Reply

 
