Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Today’s Happenings

Posted by parsingtime on September 18, 2008

You know how most accidents occur in the household? I almost stabbed myself in the stomach just now with a japanese knife. Fortunately I was carrying it upside down so the rounded end stabbed me instead of the sharp end but still it could have been ugly. Why you might ask were you carrying a knife toward you in the first place you might ask? Well I was putting away the cutlery from the dishwasher and our kitchen is poorly organized in terms of where drawer/cupboards are so I was carrying all the cooking untensils (as opposed to eating utensils) to their proper home and a spoon slipped from my hand and in my attempt to catch it and voila (pretend there is a little accent over the a, okay?)  knife to the stomach.

The saddest part of the whole stabbing is that this will be the most exciting story of my day to tell Husband.

Second happening of the day is that I am in the midst of defeating the girl at the gym that I hate. She talks on her cell phone ALL. THE. TIME. which I find very annoying and no matter what I do or what time I go she manages to be there (seriously, yesterday I went at 11 and she was there, today I went at 8 and she was there. She is totally stalking me. And really what does she do for a living? There aren’t that many people who work from home that are my age) . And she follows me around. If I’m running she chooses to run that day, if I’m using the medicine balls, she’s also using them.

So today I decided to follow her around. I finished my run early (after having to listen about her stupid date and what her mom ate for dinner last night) and started doing weights (where she followed me) and made sure I was close by for all of her activities. She left after 15 minutes. Ha. I plan on driving her away from the gym. I hope she gets fat and runs out of all her day time cell phone minutes. Clearly I’m evil, but people need goals in life, right?  

Speaking of mothers, my parents are still without power six days post Ike at home and at my mom’s business. I checked online and they aren’t expected to have power until September 25, which is a whole week away.  Not only is this bad for all the businesses in the area but it is terrible for all these hourly employees that aren’t getting paid because they can’t go to work.

And, given the state of things lately…the decline of Lehman and everything else going on in the banking world, along with the rapid decline of the stock market, housing foreclosures etc just proves that the recession I keep talking about is coming. I’m stressed about this. GWB keeps saying our economy is strong enough to handle the turmoil. I don’t think it is. It involves way to many sectors and too many things seem to be crashing at the same time.

I’ll leave you with this little gem of a conversation I had last night with Husband. After telling him I cleaned the bathrooms once a week, he responded with, “Really? Once a week? Doesn’t that seem a bit aggressive?”

Oh it’s aggressive alright, if for three years your bathroom was cleaned once a semester causing your lovely girlfriend to have to hover to pee in fear of getting a toilet-seat transmitted disease.

Leave a comment