Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

A Few Things

Posted by parsingtime on August 27, 2008

First off, I made an Indian meal that was actually good on Monday. I’m not sure who was more shocked me or Husband.  Of course then I tried to poison Husband with some undercooked chicken yesterday. How is it that out of three pieces of chicken one was not fully cooked? And why did I give that one to Husband? I’m pretty sure that killing him off with salmonella poisoning the day before our wedding anniversary and just as we got life insurance would look totally sketch. I’m not about to be a People story of the week.

So it’s our third anniversary! It hardly seems like three years have passed since Tiembo and Homechicken did their dance at our reception. Husband left the house this morning without kissing me goodbye. I called him to ask why he just left without saying goodbye (the kiss is standard and has been for three years…if I go check the mail without giving the kiss Husband will ask if I’ve decided on new non-kissing protocol without telling him. So clearly the goodbye kiss is important) and he said he forgot and then decided it was bad luck to do that on our anniversary so he turned the car around and came back.

We also had a bet last night as to what color Hillary Clinton’s pant suit would be. There were four choices that some aide held up earlier in the day (blue, red, teal an orange) and Husband took blue and red and I took teal and orange, knowing that she would totally wear the orange. And she did. And I win the bet…except that whenever Husband and I bet I never know what I want when I win…clearly I need to keep a running list.

For those of you that know Husband you should know that a rift was created in the space time continuum. Husband, yes my Husband has started going to work at 7:30. In the morning. The man who would roll into work around 9am and 10am on Fridays at the old job and got away with it because everyone loved him. The man who needs 9 hours of sleep to feel good. He went to that conference last week and someone lit a fire under his ass and he’s up and getting ready at 6am.  And he isn’t even constantly pushing the snooze button on the alarm clock.  This is the man who I used to call in Korea to wake up. Clearly there is a rift.

And last but least my new book club meets tomorrow night. I don’t know anyone. I basically got invited through a friend from Boston knowing someone in a book club down here. I’m inordinately nervous about the whole thing. I’m fine with meeting new people I just like to at least know one person at the events I go to so I have a backup person to talk to in case no one talks to me. Oh well. It’s time to suck it up and make some friends.

2 Responses to “A Few Things”

  1. tiembo said

    hooray for daler mehndi and august anniversaries

  2. Random said

    Congratulations! Three years for you means three years for me at JPMorgan. And three years since I spent a week not sleeping and cooking Indian food. Ah, memories… All totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

 
