Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Heat Wave

Posted by parsingtime on June 10, 2008

So the northeast has been going through a heat wave the last few days. Husband and I have one window unit that is cranked up as high as it can be at night in the hopes that the cool air will reach our sweltering bedroom. It has not. The last three nights we have woken up sometime between 2:00am and 3:00am complaining about how hot we are, going to get ice filled drinks of water (or pretending to and really sticking our bodies in the fridge, not that I would know anything about that) and not sleeping well for the rest of the night.

Last night however we had the brilliant idea (at 2:33am) to blow up the air mattress and sleep on it. So we did and the ensuing conversation was something like stop stealing all my covers and stop moving you’re shaking the bed (me) and stop complaining I’m not doing anything (Husband).

After attempting to sleep on the air bed for about thirty minutes I gave up and went back to the bedroom. Everytime Husband moved my whole body would bounce around. I’m a terrible sleeper in general and it took me almost a year to get used to sleeping next to Husband and we had an excellent non-moving mattress.

I learned four things last night:

  1. The only reason I sleep well in general is because we have an awesome bed that somehow minimizes the movement of the other person. I will have to look for this feature in all my future beds otherwise I will smother Husband some night after he has been way too wriggly.
  2. We had planned to keep our air bed with us for the few days in Carolina when we will be without furniture. I’m going to keep the sleeping bag unpacked and sleep on that on the floor. No air mattress for me unless I’m sleeping alone.
  3. Sleeping close to the AC will give you a sore throat and a runny nose the next day.
  4. Reason #900 why living in the northeast sucks hard…no central air conditioning.
2 Responses to “Heat Wave”

  1. What bed do you currently have? I’ve been looking for one that doesn’t move too much when another person moves around, but haven’t been able to find a good one through my testing, unfortunately. 😦

  2. Aerobed…I don’t recommend it unless you are a heavy sleeper or sleeping by yourself.

Leave a Reply

 
