Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Yummy Sangria

Posted by parsingtime on April 20, 2008

So I had people over for appetizers and drinks last night before we headed out to dinner and I made Sangria for the first time. I really love Sangria because it tastes fruity and yummy without the strong alcochol taste.

Anyway here is the recipe…it was definitely a hit last night.

1 (750-ml) bottle red wine  (I used Vina Borgia a $6 Spanish red wine)
1/4 cup brandy (flavored, regular I don’t think it matters)
1/4 cup orange flavored liqueur (I used off brand triple sec that was about $9 for a bottle, real triple sec is expensive)
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 tablespoons fresh orange juice (I put about 4 table spoons because I didn’t know what to do with the rest of a squeezed orange)
1/4 cup sugar (if you have a sweet apple I would put a bit less sugar)
1/2 orange, thinly sliced
1/2 lemon, thinly sliced
1 unwaxed apple, cored, and cut into thin wedges (I cubed)
1/2 a bottle sparkling water, chilled

Combine everything but the sparkling water in a large plastic container or glass pitcher. Cover and chill completely, for a few hours. When ready to serve, add the sparkling water. Don’t add too much because it will taste watery, I would just add two splashes per glass.

This tastes a lot like what you get in Tapas restaurants.  Also I imagine you could do this same recipe and replace the fruit with whatever you like, strawberries, peaches, raspberries etc.

Leave a Reply

 
