Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Songs that take me Back

Posted by parsingtime on February 5, 2008

Do you ever hear a song on the radio and immediately get taken back to some past memory or it makes you think of a particular person? Music has had such a big impact on my life. My Dad has always been a big music guy and my sister and I enjoy it because of him.

  • Ballerina Girl – Lionel Richie potentially the cheesiest song that was ever written (seriously it makes me want to gag), however I remember my dad listening to this song when I was 6 or 7 and telling me he thought of my sister and I whenever he heard this song. I imagine you have to be a parent to fully appreciate it but still if I ever hear it I think of that moment.
  • Angel – Sara McLachlan; Spend all your time waiting For that second chance For a break that would make it okay There’s always one reason To feel not good enough the lyrics in this song remind me of the year I failed the LSAT and didn’t get into law school. Very depressing.
  • California Dreaming – The Mamas and the Papas; there was this cartoon video of this song on Disney. I saw it once and every time I hear this song I think of Mickey kneeling in the church and how dark the video was for a cartoon.
  • Fade Into You – Mazzy Star; song playing the first time I ever “made out” in a car with Husband (and by made out we are taking first base nothing else!). Uhh, first time I made out ever.
  • Better Together – Jack Johnson; For some reason Jack Johnson was being played all over Thailand (night market, Chatachuck, random malls). So whenever I hear him now I think of Thailand.
  • The Scientist – Coldplay; Husband and I broke up for a brief time Nobody said it was easy no one ever said it would be so hard.
  • Sinnerman – Nina Simone; The first movie Husband and I saw together at the theater was The Thomas Crown Affair and this was his favorite song in the movie.
  • Love Generation – Bob Sinclair; whenever I hear this song I think of Husband’s section at school. A really fun bunch of people who are willing to get on tables in Cartagena and dance to this song because it’s the group song. A big cheer always goes up when the first few bars of this plays.
  • Killing Me Softly – Fugees; I feel sort of bad about this one because I subjected Emilia to this song for weeks I loved it so much and everyday we rode to school together she would have to endure it. Every time I hear it I think about those high school car rides.
  • Love Fool – The Cardigans; would you believe my mom loves this song? I laugh whenever I think of my mom with her awful singing voice singing this in the car.
  • Love Today –Mika; this was played on Indian satellite TV every single day we watched TV in India…I think of Bombay when I hear this.
  • Black Hole Sun –Soundgarden; this song was popular my freshman year of high school land when I hear it I think of marching band and the HUGE crush I had on a particular drummer who wore a Soundgarden shirt
  • Bare Naked Ladies – any song; I always think about Random and I’s roommate from our freshman year in college. She played the new Bare Naked Ladies album all day every day.
  • I Wanna Dance with Somebody– Whitney Houston; when we lived in Hong Kong (I was 6 or 7 I would guess) my parents brought us to the US to visit the grandparents and we ended up taking a road trip and this song was popular and me with my obsessive personality loved it. My uncle Jay knowing I liked it would change the radio station whenever it played and he never let me play his Atari. I’m still bitter.
  • Your Song – Elton John; our wedding song.
  • Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen; This one makes me cringe because when I hear it I remember how Random and I once made it our answering machine message…Is this a real voice. No it’s an answerphone…Go on make me happy, go on leave a message for meee for me. We were dorks or maybe it was only me.

Okay, there will probably be a part two to this at some point. I haven’t even listed one Beatles song which is just wrong.

4 Responses to “Songs that take me Back”

  1. Emilia said

    When I saw the title to this post, Killing Me Softly is the first thing that came to mind. It always seemed to come on the radio at the same time on the way home from school – and where we were when the song came on determined if we missed the 3:00 school zone or not… depending on if that other person we rode with took too much time at her locker… ahh memories. I think of the little Sentra every time I hear it, which isn’t much considering where I live!

  2. Random Banker said

    Don’t forget Jewel – there are still some songs of hers I can’t listen to because Elaine played them so much. And I totally don’t remember this Bohemian Rhapsody answering machine message. Did we really do that??

  3. […] pre-dates them, as do vinyl albums. I do in fact remember Atari and wrote about it. Also my dad had plenty of vinyls that he […]

  4. […] Posted by parsingtime on October 13, 2008 Part Two. Part One is here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
