Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

For Sale

Posted by parsingtime on December 11, 2007

Normal life in the land of Time has come to a screeching halt while Husband studies for and takes his finals. This semester seems to be particularly busy because Husband now has papers to write…anyway, he is studying hard and was even up til 5am this morning before coming to bed.  And of course, being the good wife that I am I let him sleep on my side of the bed which was nice and warm and didn’t even complain when my arm fell asleep with him laying scrunched up next to me because when you only have an hour and a half to sleep every minute counts. Poor guy.

Anyway as I said normal life has disappeared…. I’ve had a lot of free time to myself while Husband studies and I’ve filled that time with cleaning up, getting ready for our trip, making brain food, and recording a lot of random television (because I’m bored and can’t read any of my books until our trip). Currently waiting in my line up is a documentary on China’s Three Gorges Dam (actually watched this while eating lunch VERY interesting), Man vs. Wild (the crazy guy who drinks water from dead camel’s stomachs), The Age of Walmart and Gangs of New York.

Recently, I watched the documentary Iraq for Sale: The War Profiteers.  In this movie I learned how much of this war has been privatised as compared to the past and about the private companies who are making money from the war (they charge the US gov’t $45 for a six pack of coke that is made and bottled in the middle east!).  I won’t go into the details but it was really interesting and I recommend it.  The filmmaker does not have a style even remotely close to Michael Moore, so if he turns you off then this might be up your alley. The whole film feels hands off in terms of personal bias (though of course there is a bias).

It does make stories like this even more disturbing. This poor girl is also getting annihilated in the comments. People think she is making up the story or saying we can’t condemn KBR/Halliburton until they have been tried in court and in the same breath saying she must have been a slut. Hello Pot, meet Kettle.

The comments might be more disturbing than the story…regardless, war doesn’t bring out the best in anyone.

Oh, and I was reading an article on the new John Cusack movie (he plays a Dad who takes his daughters on a trip after he learns their mother died in Iraq) and he said something about asking his 12 year old co-star what she thought of the war, and she responded that it had been going on for half her life so she didn’t really remember life before it.

That’s just sad.

Leave a Reply

 
