Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Grilled Chicken with Mustard and Basil

Posted by parsingtime on November 6, 2007

I’m a relatively new cook. Oh sure, I cooked in college some, but Random Banker and I survived on some cooking, some Central Market cafe buy one get one free coupons and a lot of our Mom’s sending us freezer food that we could heat an eat. My mom introduced her to the wonders of Indian food and I got my share of etoufees, jambalaya’s and Ritz cracker pies. 

Anyway, I’ve been cooking legitimately since I got married. I cook dinner four to five times a week and make lunch for the two of us almost every day.  Last year Husband was eating lunch on campus and this year he is home which means I’ve needed to vary up lunch a bit. Husband isn’t into eating the same thing day in and day out like I am.

In the last two years I have tried out a lot of recipes, some of them work and some of them don’t. A lot of recipe books suck and some are really good. In fact if I were to do a food network show I would do one where I tried out recipe books and made recommendations. So in that vein, here at parsingtime I’m going to start passing along some of my tried and true favorites. 

And the first one is: Grilled Chicken with Mustard and Basil. It is a Canyon Ranch spa recipe and is very healthy and I have all these ingredients already and usually just have to remember to pick up basil.

Ingredients:
3T Dijon mustard
2 tsp minced garlic
2T balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
4T olive oil
4T fresh basil chopped (fresh is key!)

Mix it all together and marinate your chicken in it (one to two hours is more than fine). I usually use the thinner pieces of chicken (I’m not a chef people, I do not know technical terms) and then just grill it in a pan on the stove until it is done but you could bake it if you wanted.  Add a vegetable and a salad and you’re done. Oh, and I half this recipe for just the two of us.

Husband is a picky-ish eater in that he is very vocal about the things he likes and the things he doesn’t like. This is a winner with both of us. 

One Response to “Grilled Chicken with Mustard and Basil”

  1. Emilia said

    Sounds yummy.

Leave a Reply

 
