Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Breakthrough

Posted by parsingtime on October 17, 2007

Husband has had a breakthrough and tells me he has decided on a career path.  I’m going to wait a few weeks and see if it sticks. I’m thinking it might given that he is flying to our new potential living locale and wants me to come out for the weekend to make sure that we like the area.  This is a little freaky for me because Husband never decides things this soon. He likes to waffle and torture me with thoughts like “what if we live in town X where they have a nuclear waste disposal site, we can buy a huge house for cheap”, “hey if we live with my parents we could pay off all our school loans in a year” or “hey what if I never figure out what I want to do and you keep working and I’ll stay home and buy options.”

For some reason none of these options really appeal to me.  I know, you’re shocked. Husband’s new venture is very up his alley. Risky without making us poverty stricken, he’d get to be his own boss, more or less, and we would be in the south where potentially we will be able to afford a house and kid one day.  I’m definitely feeling old given that whole house and a kid thing. I really consider myself to be more of a downtown living, condo/townhouse, tapas eating kind of girl rather than a backyard with a swing-set and diapers kind of girl.  But you know, cycle of life and all that crap.

Anyway, back to Husband. He got me all excited that we would be living in the state capital of this new state and then I went and looked it up my hopes were dashed as we are not even remotely close to the state capital.  I am quite sure I would like to work in government but since we are not close to the capital and municipal government doesn’t interest me I now need to sit down and figure out what I’m going to do with my life.

I’m going to start torturing Husbands with comments like, “hey now that we are out of school I thought I’d pop out 2.5 babies and become a soccer mom” or “hey maybe I’ll stay home for the next thirty years eating ice cream sandwiches and working out with my trainer Sven.”

It’s so not fair, he will see right through my ideas for my future whereas he was dead serious about his.

One Response to “Breakthrough”

  1. Emilia said

    Houses are very cheap in Lufkin!

Leave a Reply

«
 
