Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Back

Posted by parsingtime on August 31, 2007

Well we are back and we have a new neighbor. I know nothing about new neighbor except for the fact that he or she plays the flute…loudly and poorly. Husband commented that “at least they probably only play during the day” which earned him a stare from me, his wife, who supports him from working at home.

Anyway, I’m thrilled to be back and I have washed, ironed, and put away eight industrial sized loads of laundry. Husband and I also have managed to spend two grand in the 30 hours we have been back in Boston. Ah, I love the northeast and the ridiculous cost of parking.

I’m also completely back to reality after three months of not wearing a seat belt, not washing my own clothes, not making dinner or washing up. I do miss Shanker. He peeled my fruit and I am just not capable of that level of wonderfulness.

One last comment on India…the international flights all leave in the middle of the night, usually from 10:00pm to 3:00am. This means that if you wake up at a normal time like we did, say 8am, when you finally get on your flight you have already been awake 18 hours. Add that to a 9 hour flight to London, a 4 hour layover, another 7 hour flight to Boston, only four hours of fitful sleep on the plane and then a car that needs a jump from Triple A and then four bags all weighing 70lbs that need to be taken up five flights of stairs and you have a recipe for crankiness! Fortunately, Husband and I managed all that and even stayed awake until 8:00pm before succumbing to exhaustion.  I love to travel but jet lag really is a pain.

Oh, and I forgot to tell you that Husband saw Scarlett Johannson at Heathrow airport.  He said everyone was staring at her but only because she looked so weird and all hunched up trying to avoid notice. He said if she had been walking like a normal person no one in the airport would have even noticed. Husband is not that observant so the fact that he noticed is pretty amazing, especially given that he only knew her as “that girl from Lost in Translation.”

Leave a Reply

 
