Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Customer Service in this Country SUCKS ASS

Posted by parsingtime on August 6, 2007

Every time I think India is okay it goes and takes a big ol’ crap on me and I remember the Hindi teacher that took my money and has never shown up, the extortion in Delhi, the weeks it took to get a cell phone and every other small thing India and India’s customer service has done for me.

Another conversation with incompetent folks at Thai Airways

Me:Hi, I made a reservation online four days ago and I’m here to pay and get my tickets.
Thai: It’s been more than 72 hours since you made the reservation, it has been cancelled.
Me: Yes, I know it has been more than 72 hours but the monsoons shut everything down Friday and Saturday and you aren’t open on Sunday. I tried calling to find out what to do but no one answered.
Thai: What number were you calling
Me: 8993488483
Thai: Oh that number is no longer in service
Me: Tirade about changing websites etc so people know what number to call. Find out the number has been different for ten weeks and is still listed incorrectly. More tirade about incompetency. Well I’d like to rebook and pay for it now
Thai:Well our credit card machine is broken so we can’t accept your card but you can show up with <insert thousands of rupees> again tomorrow after re-booking online and we can accept your payment. The machine won’t be fixed for at least a week.
Me: I’m not driving home, re-booking and then returning here with thousands of rupees. That is why people have credit cards, so they don’t have to carry around cash.  I notice you have an office at the airport. Can I go to the airport and pay for the ticket by credit card there.
Thai: Oh yes, madam
Me: Great, please call and ask them if their credit card machine is working. I’ll go today.
Thai: Oh, no madam you can’t make reservations at the airport office.
Me: Staring. You just said I could
Thai: Well I thought you meant the office in Bangkok airport. You can pay for your ticket by credit card there.
Me: And how do you suppose I will get to Bangkok airport given that you won’t sell me a ticket? Hysterical screechiness beginning to seep into my voice  How am I supposed to get to Bangkok to pay for this ticket in the first place? Does that make any sense?
Thai: Oh…oh I don’t know.
Me: Please give me the US and Bangkok phone numbers for complaints

I’m sure this all seems overly dramatic to all of you. But after nine weeks of dealing with incompetent ridiculously incompetent people and not ever being able to get the service I want on the first try I’ve had it up to here (arm stretched way above my head) with the customer service in this country.

One Response to “Customer Service in this Country SUCKS ASS”

  1. Car said

    I just wanna say that in no way does that service represent anything related to Thailand the country, the people, or THEIR service. hehehee…just wanna make that clear. Wow. Sometimes I feel an urge to go visit ya’ll in India just to experience the unbelievable frustration!

    Oh and thank you for the congrats shout out in previous post. I just got around to reading again so i’m catching up on your life hehe. Have fun in Thailand (hoping you’ll get there somehow…and pay with a cc)

Leave a Reply

 
