Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Delhi & Agra

Posted by parsingtime on July 22, 2007

So I’ve been traveling with Random Banker these last few days. She has probably learned or relearned a couple of things about me. One, I’m incredibly impatient. Two, I slather on sunscreen all the time because I don’t want to get dark. And three, I’m not afraid of being “firm” with people who need a “firm” hand.  

For instance the Delhi Tourism Board will be hearing from me. I rented a car from them. I was told I would have it from 9am to 9pm. At 7:50 RB and I called the car and went to the place where the driver had last been. We could not find him and his phone was turned off. After calling the board, the hotel and the driver multiple times he finally showed up at 8:30. We were probably 45 minutes from our destination. At this point he dials a number from my phone and puts me on with his boss who informs me that I now have to pay 720 rupees to get me home because it is going to be past the time agreed upon. I try to explain to him again what has happened and that it is not my fault the driver turned off his phone and wandered off. He then tells me well I have to pay regardless because my 12 hours of time started when the driver left his port station. Of course no one told me that. Never was I informed of that little clause and when I said as much the boss guy told me “well I’m telling you now” and “it is your fault you didn’t ask.” I was absolutely livid and you can bet that I will be writing the Delhi Tourism Board and Lonely Planet to lodge a complaint.  It is just another example of India screwing me over (like the Hindi teacher and the internet people). There is just no service here. Also the guy enraged me further by not giving me his full name. He said his only name was Hemrat. And when I asked if he was like Prince or Madonna and only worthy of one name he said yes. You know that did not sit well with me. Oh, and also we asked for an English speaking driver and the guy we got could only parrot out the monuments and five star hotels in Delhi. Not speak English. I will be writing about that too. If he had spoken English perhaps he might have explained the clause to me before we wondered around for an hour just killing time. 

Anyway, despite all that RB and I have been taking in the sights of Delhi (Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort, Jama Masjid, India Gate etc) and are now in Agra. We saw the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort this afternoon (wonderful of course) and spent the afternoon laying around the pool, cooling off.

Of course then I had to be firm with the hotel people and let them know the banging that is going on next door to our room and has been going on since 9am this morning needed to stop. I am not at a Five Star hotel so that I can listen to banging and have my reading of Harry Potter interrupted.  Oh yes, RB and I are reading Harry Potter in India! It is wonderful so far but since we are in India and trying to be good tourists we aren’t devouring it like the last few.  That’s all for now, more frustrations coming your way soon I’m sure.

3 Responses to “Delhi & Agra”

  1. t said

    do you wonder if you’d be treated differently if you were a different race?

  2. Vai said

    I sympathize with the whole screwing over ordeal. As infuriating as it is, you kind of have to expect it. I loved living in India, but the only way it was possible without pulling my hair out was successfully hiding my American identity. I speak fluent Hindi, among other languages, despite growing up in America, and that worked in my favor–BIG TIME. It would have been nice to have gotten some Hindi in with the teacher that flaked on you, but honestly, any person you’re speaking to only needs a hint that you’re not native, and that’s the end. But other than this pessimistic view on the situation (!), it sounds like you’re having fun! Hope you don’t mind me throwing in my five cents. 🙂

  3. […] while not being able to eat before a colonoscopy in Charlotte, respectively. Random and I searched Delhi far and wide for the Deathly Hallows release and then sat by a pool and read the day […]

Leave a Reply

 
