Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Reading is Fundamental

Posted by parsingtime on June 17, 2007

In the last twenty-four days I have read seven books. Here’s a run down in case you are looking for something to read.

Running with Scissors by Augustan Burroughs – this is one of the most painful books I’ve read. It is supposed to be funny but I just felt bad for the guy for having such a bizarre childhood. I would pass on this one

House of Spirits by Isabel Allende –  this is one of those books on lists of books to read before you die. It is well translated and an interesting read but like 100 Years of Solitude it relies on magical realism which is to say it isn’t realistic at all. I’m not a fan of this kind of writing but that said 100 Years of Solitude is one of the most beloved and famed books of the last century so who am I criticize the style of writing

A Thousand Splendid Suns – I already wrote a review of this go read it. It is wonderful

Sister of My Heart by Chitra Banerjee Divakurani – a good fast read by a pretty famous Indian author.

Secret Society Girl by Diana Peterfreund – a fluffy novel that I bought for the plane ride over and read on Friday when Husband was at work. It had a sequel coming out that I won’t be buying however it was definitely a good lay on the beach mindless book. Better than those Shopoholic series of books.

Secret Life of Bees By Sue Monk Kidd – I don’t know what I was expecting from this but I really enjoyed it. I think it is because I really like character studies and looking into why people do things and why they feel the way they feel. It is about a white girl who runs away and finds herself living with three white bee keeping sisters in the south who worship a black Madonna. It was good and even better I picked it up half price. I also read that Friday and early Saturday in India.

Freakanomics by the Steven & Stephen – interesting read for a person who generally doesn’t like non-fiction. You should read it before you have kids so you don’t suck as a parent.

Coming soon to a blog near you: recommendations of restaurants in in Mumbai.

3 Responses to “Reading is Fundamental”

  1. Diana said

    Thank you so much for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Emilia said

    An author comment! You are a book reviewing rockstar.

  3. Holy crap…now I feel bad that I said I wouldn’t buy the sequel. Eeek.

Leave a Reply

 
