Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Daughter-in-law

Posted by parsingtime on May 15, 2007

My father in law was in town this weekend. Very few things freak me out more than my in-laws. Don’t get me wrong they are nice people and they are generally really nice to me, however I have never had to entertain them or have them stay in my own home for more than a couple of hours and even then all I served was dessert.

I was the wife who came into the marriage not really knowing how to cook at all. Fortunately Husband has an iron stomach otherwise he may not have made it through the first few months of our marriage.  Anyway, FIL was here and the visit was fine but it meant that I had to pull out some skills that Husband never knew I had.

I know how to make cha (indian tea). I even have all the stuff you need to make it, but for almost two years of marriage I’ve avoided making it by saying I didn’t know how to make it. I’ve seen that stuff made at least 500 times Husband, of course I know how to make it, it isn’t rocket science after all. Really how hard is it to throw tea, spices, water and milk into a pot and bring it to a boil?

In order to be a good DIL I had to make cha and today the first day that my FIL was gone, Husband asked if I would make him some tea. Disaster. What if he asks tomorrow and the next day and the next day and then all of the sudden I turn into one of the two people I never want to be: my Mother in law.  The second person that I don’t want to turn into is my mother. Just so we are clear that there is no mother vs MIL favoritism going on here.

Pointers to all you unmarried ladies out there: Don’t ever admit to knowing how to do anything.  If you do you’ll end up replacing the brake lights by yourself and having to make tea.

Leave a Reply

 
