Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Hair

Posted by parsingtime on October 23, 2006

So for the past year or so I’ve been concerned that I have female pattern baldness. I feel like I lose a ton of hair every day and that just can’t be normal. My dad is bald, and one of my biggest fears is that I will be one of those old ladies with a bald spot and small children will be scared of me.

I’ve mentioned this baldness fear multiple times to Random Banker (who I’m pretty sure rolls her eyes). Recently I noticed that I had a lot of little short hairs at the top of my scalp. New growth! A step in the right direction, i.e. the direction away from baldness.

Anyway, this weekend I saw my mom in Philly and mentioned to her that I was freaked out about a 6 inch white hair. And of course now the fear is I’m going gray. She was standing behind me at one point and asked me if I wanted to know how many white hairs I had. I HAVE FIVE PEOPLE and two are new short white hairs, new growth and three are long! Which means they have been around for a while.   I’m going to need advice on hair dye soon.

In the long run though, I would prefer to be gray over bald. But still I’m young, still relatively cute…I blame Boston. It is aging me prematurely.

Leave a Reply

 
