Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Life

Posted by parsingtime on September 24, 2006

So I’m a bit stressed. I met a pretty big deadline for work on Thursday and didn’t have much work on Friday to do.  I also have nothing to start on tomorrow as far as I know. I’m not sure how to get more work (this current project is busy, but there is a pause right now waiting for more information from another law firm, hence the lack of work). So I’m wondering what to do? 

I need to work and feel like maybe I should get a part time position or something until the work is more steady. I don’t know. Husband thinks it’s crazy talk, but I do stress about the fact that I work from home at the mercy of clients and we are paying a sh*tload for this school and more importantly all its activities. Granted we are in a much better position than say, married couples who are both in school or someone with kids, but I would still like to contribute and make similar money as I was making before.

I guess for me it boils down to one thing, which is really more about me than the money.  I feel like if I am able to make equivalent money doing this (as opposed to being at a law firm) then it is validation that I’m not completely off my rocker for doing this whole work from home thing, instead of getting a real job. I don’t know, it feels like a bit of a cop out not to try to take the bar here and do something to further my career.  And at the same time, I really like the flexibility, so that if I want to go see the Defense Minister of India speak or go to dessert tasting with the partners club, or go to noon yoga I can.

Eh, when does life get easier? I always thought when I was done with the whole hormonal high school days and then college that things would slow down and make sense. Instead, things just get more complicated. Though, not in a bad way, just unexpected.

Ah well, we have been here a month today and it is starting to feel more like home (though we aren’t quite there yet) so I suppose that is progress, if nothing else. We spent the afternoon eating ice cream while sitting by the Charles, watching the ducks and sleeping in the sun. Husband and I are taking advantage of every warm day we have.

Things to look forward to this week (even if I don’t have work): The founder of Finale  is coming to speak at school and there is dessert after the talk.  Also, Random Banker may be making an appearance in my new city at the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

 
