Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Bad things about working at home

Posted by parsingtime on September 18, 2006

  1. Hello, Ben and Jerry’s in the freezer that your husband opened during lunch. You would never have dreamed of having a few bites if the plastic seal hadn’t been broken. The plastic seal is what was keeping you an ice-cream abiding citizen and not randomly eating it during the day. The SEAL is gone people. Hence there might have been a little bit of ice cream eating during the day. In my defense it is 80 degrees here and sweltering (but that’s not complaining, I will take the smell of sweat over nasty snow any day). Ahem, back to the list
  2. Sitting on the couch, all propped up and looking like a lady of leisure with your feet up and a pillow behind your back (but really you’re been reading a hideously boring deposition so the aforementioned ice cream doesn’t taste as good as say when you are watching the Gilmore Girls.). I swear the Ikea chairs were starting to kill my ass, even with the two pillows shielding my poor tushie from the plastic coated ply wood. This is one of those situations when a big nicely padded grandma ass comes in handy.
  3. Husband: Hey lets take a nap. I’m done with school.
    Me: This is the middle of my work day, I can’t nap. Be gone with your bad influencing self.
    Husband: Come on, just 20 minutes.
    Me: Huh, well now that I think of it, I didn’t sleep well last night. Okay, 20 minutes.
    One hour later…I realize holy crap, it’s one hour later and really self, when do you ever sleep well at night?

I have yet to succumb to the television but I’m guessing that’s only because daytime TV does not have a lot to offer. Also, in my defense I get distracted by things like cleaning and laundry, not just ice cream and naps.

Leave a Reply

 
