Parsingtime

More Annoyed than Amused

Orange Vanilla Granola

Posted by parsingtime on October 13, 2010

I made homemade granola yesterday and it is delicious. Yes, I’m feeling very Martha Stewart because I made cereal. I discovered this recipe through my friend Kelly (who actually is the Martha Stewart of Texas without the whole jail issue)  who got it from here.

I don’t like cranberries or raisins or most dried fruit so I adapted it to my tastes. My recipe, which is of course pretty much what you see on the other website, with a few changes, is below.

5 cups rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup oil (I used some sort of vegetable oil)
zest of one orange (next time I will use the zest of two oranges)
1 teaspoon and a bit of vanilla
1 cup slivered almonds
1 cup flax seeds

Preheat oven to 300°. In a pot combine salt, cinnamon, brown sugar, water, oil, orange zest, and vanilla. Heat until well blended. Pour over oats and nuts in large mixing bowl, stirring to combine. Spread on large greased cookie sheet. Bake for 40-45 minutes, stirring every 10-15 minutes. Cool.

It was really very easy to make the and the results are delicious. It is definitely the sort of thing you could bag up and give away to people.

I will say that the oil in this makes it a little higher in calories and fat than I would want (though the end product does not feel oily or heavy and it does have fewer calories than store-bought granola) at the moment so the next time I make this I might try using half the oil and some applesauce instead.  I generally try not to make big changes the first time I make a recipe so I know it works before messing with it. Will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

